The Ivory Puppy

pup an ape

‘’The Ivory Puppy’’

The cute ivory pup
So innocent and filled with life
Born to a place on the Indian street
No one to care
No one to save its life

Saddened, as I walk by and glance back
Play, as it did, on the manhole cover
Traffic streaming past its curled tail
I worried for its life as if I were its mother

Nothing is possible for me to do
But detach from God’s creation
This ivory puppy, so cute
Soon to meet its mutilation.
My heart cries. I can do nothing
But walk and look back,
As if it were just hallucination.

©2/5/2016 Pamela Hope

~ by Pamela Hope on February 5, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
